Skip to content

Multiple Adventures

July 18, 2011

Two Modes for Enjoying the World of Warcraft

Well, I’ve always been intrigued with the RP aspects of the MMORPG that I’ve been playing for… well, a long time now.  However, this is the first time I’ve actually DONE something about it.  A month or two ago, some friends approached me about doing a Role Playing Game (since our last one ended rather abruptly).  So, I said, “Well, what about Azeroth as a setting?  That way we don’t have to get any new books or teach anyone what the world is like.”  They seemed to think that was a great idea.

The next thing that we had to figure out was the system.  As we all know (or are now aware of), Blizzard has decided that the RPG books that they published with White Wolf aren’t canon anymore.  That kinda sucks.  However, I really am not a fan of D&D 3 or 3.5, so that wasn’t too much of an issue, and if I’m going to go, I may as well go big.  We settled on Savage Worlds, since the system is generic enough to accomodate just about anything we come up with.  We had to come up with a racial template, though, for the Tuskarr… oh, yeah, that’s right.  I haven’t talked about the setting.

The Events Prior to Wrath of the Lich King

Well, one of the periods of time that I thought would be fun to explore would be Northrend prior to the events that occurred in Wrath of the Lich King.  Back when the Taunka are blissfully not a part of the Horde, the blue dragonflight is as insular as it should be, and the continent itself should be considered frightening.  My players are playing a Human member of the Argent Crusade sent to scout Northrend and determine where the Crusade should focus its efforts.  Another is a Gnome member of the Explorer’s Society.  Think of Indiana Jones if he had ADHD, was  two and a half feet tall, and suffered from kleptomania.  Then we have a Tuskarr Shaman.  It’s a fun assortment of folks.

The initial plot hook is that there’s a contingent of the Silver Hand that were sent up to Northrend at some point and didn’t get the memo that they were disbanded.  It’s pretty fun stuff.  My plot outline has eight major points, but I’m going to try to insert some fun stuff in and around major places on the continent before they get steam rolled by the forces of the Lich King.  I’m especially looking forward to statting out the Nerubians.  I’m going to explore the plot aspects that they decided to leave out of the game in that regard.  I was super excited about that at the announcement of Wrath, and I was subsequently exceptionally disappointed when they cut it.

What about in Game?

I’ve finally got two of the three classes to max level that I’ve always wanted to play.  First off, we have the hunter that I was working on a while ago.  He’s firmly at 85 with all four Northrend spirit beasts in his stable.  Loque was a bitch to get, but I finally got him a week or two ago.  It made me switch to BM, but I’ve been enamored with two other projects.  The second class to make it to 85 was my Rogue.  I’ve always wanted to do one.  I kind of got that experience with my feral druid earlier this year, but I decided that I wanted the “pure” version of that experience.

The final class (or so I thought) that I wanted to level is a Warrior.  He’s in the early 60s as I wait for a friend of mine to finish classes or make some time to level him some more.  If anyone has a character at a similar level and wants to play some, then feel free to make a comment here (with a valid email address) and I’ll get in touch with you to level some.  It’s a super class… I frequently comment that if rogue isn’t the best designed class that warrior is.  Which I pick is pretty much based on which I’ve been playing most at the time.

Another Possible Character

I know I shouldn’t even be doing this, but I have a friend that’s got a level 20-ish rogue.  So, I started a Priest with a friend that started a shaman… the intent will be to get them to the same level as my buddy and then we can roll through PVP leveling together.  I think that’s a great idea.  Rogue, Shaman, and Priest?  Pretty good combination to have rolling in a BG together.  I’m just concerned that I’m not going to be able to contribute at such a low level with only 3 heals… though Penance looks to be super good.

Yeah, I chose Discipline (oh the irony), but I’m not opposed to trying other things as I level.  I’m thinking I’ll do holy as my second spec, but that’s not for a while yet.

From → MMOs, WoW

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

