Skip to content

CHAOS!

February 1, 2011

I’ve always liked the Warhammer universe, and when I played Descent last weekend before I went to training, our gracious host indicated that he’d been playing Warhammer Online for a while.  Well, I haven’t tried it aside from my brief dalliance with the game on the Mac right after they released that client.  Man, it was bad.  That, I think, was a product of my system and not the game, though.

So, I downloaded the streaming client and started into the unlimited trial.  I played through the things I had already done, but I noticed something interesting this go around.  I didn’t feel like I was playing a game from 1994.  The animations were smooth, the textures fit the world, and the game was generally pretty good.  I’m going to have to get a little further into the game before I make a decision on this one, but it’s not a complete washout like I thought it was.

I rolled up a Chaos Zealot.  Like the Rune Keeper in LOTRO, it seems to be a versatile class.  You get healing and direct damage.  You toggle which you want to do.  When the skill is toggled on, your direct damage stats are increased.  If it’s off, then it assumes you want to heal.  The effects aren’t as good as LOTROs, though.  The world seems a little more flat and drab… and the textures don’t pop at all.

I’m willing to try it a little more when the Skaven come out in patch 1.4.  I think that would be a lot of fun.

From → WAR

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

