Skip to content

Ya know

December 3, 2009

I was going to write something about how I was under performing in the raid on Tuesday night, but I’m not sure that’s the best attitude to take here.  I really don’t think I was under performing, so much as performing at where I probably should have been.

Let’s break it down:

1.)  I’m not that familiar with the fights.  Yeah, I’ve done them.  However, I’ve not done them ad nauseaum like some of the folks have.  I’m a real newb bucket by comparison.  Yeah, I’ve watched the breakdowns on tankspot (and that REALLY helped with Northrend Beasts) and, yeah, I’ve done them on not heroic a few times now, but I’ve only recently gotten to get into the instance and rock out with folks that KNOW them.  I look absolutely abysmal by comparison.  Which I should.

2.)  I have pieces of gear that aren’t properly itemized.  I don’t need +mp5.  That stat when used on pieces of my gear seriously detracts from damage dealing potential.  For example, I don’t have enough haste (~530) to fit in the extra LB cast into my rotation.  That’s a problem.  Yeah, I’ve got Crit coming out my ears, but it’s useless unless I can get more haste in there.

3.)  I’m pretty sure I should just NOT use chain lightning.  There’s a break even point that’s supposed to happen, but I have to figure out where it is.  I plugged in using Chain Lightning in ZAP! with the default profile loaded and there was actually a DPS loss.  Who’da thunk it?  Right?

4.)  I need to stand still.  Like, for real.  I move, way, way, way, way, way too much.  When my activity time is 60 some odd percent?  That’s time I’m not doing my job.  I’m wrong and should go stand in the fire anyway because I’m doing about that much good.

Yesterday, I was working on an entry, and it was going to be kinda like this one.  However, I think that I was going to be a little too much of a bitch about it.  I’ve slept a bit since then, and I’ve come to the conclusion that:  I’m going to go in when I’m asked to and try to make improvements based on what I’ve learned so far.  I’m going to take parses of the things I participate in, and I’m going to examine them and look for signs of improvement.  If they aren’t there, then I’m going to re-evaluate whether or not I -should- sign up for things.  Just because I want to, doesn’t mean I should.

From → WoW

3 Comments
  1. armorydave permalink

    Where does the fun part some in?

  2. armorydave permalink

    Ahem… come in.

    • It’s like drum corp, you practice and practice and practice, and when you get out there and perform… it makes it all worth it.

Leave a Reply

