Skip to content

The eF’iN Gee

November 16, 2009

Well, what I’m really trying to say up there is the F.N.G.  Or Fucking New Guy.  I don’t know from whence this phrase originated, but it definitely gets the point across.  It’s interesting when you’re new to a scene and trying to figure out the ins and outs of what’s going on.  Most frequently, I’ve seen this phrase used at work, but its applicable in WoW, too.

One thing that really struck me about being one of the new guys in Surreality is how much different the environment feels.  I was talking with one of the other relatively new dudes (this may or may not be true… but he’s a new guy to talk to for me), D, yesterday, and we got on the topic of the differences between the server I came from and BDF as well as the guild differences.  I logged into my hunter alt yesterday, played him for a little, and hung out on KT just to see what’s what (which is what prompted the discussion).

Well, in the time since I’ve left, they got enough folks together to try toc10 clears… I judiciously decided not to mention the alt raids that Surreality does on the weekends.  I just thought it wouldn’t do good for morale… or the fact that it’s pretty reasonable to PuG through any other raids on BDF (I pugged Eye of Eternity yesterday… yeah, really).  Now, I’m not saying these are bad players, but the community that they’re stuck in on KT is probably not going to see them progress at the rate I’m sure they’d like.

Anyway, I came back and talked with D about this a little bit, and we talked about what I thought of everyone so far.  I was very honest with him and said, “There’s something about this group of players… I don’t know what it is, but everyone knows what they like doing and play towards that while contributing to the group.”  That’s probably a little more refined than what I actually said,  but it’s true.  There are a lot of talented players playing what they want, and it really shows.

So, what does this have to do with being the FNG?  Well, its more of realizing that I’ve made the right decision, but I still have a long way to go.  D mentioned that he was relatively new to what’s going on, but ultimately was glad he was where he was.  I shared the opinion, but expressed how much different the environment is for me, and how I still have some getting used to it to do… So, the FNG isn’t a bad place to be, it just lets you see with a bit more clarity where you’re going and where you came from.

From → WoW

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

